AGM 2017

Minutes of The ASC Annual General Meeting

Thursday 9th November 2017 12.30

Ort House, 126 Albert Street, London, NW1 7NE, UK

1   Apologies for Absence

Rebecca Cole, Mike Trotman, AJ Johnson.

2   Minutes of last Annual General Meeting

The minutes of the last meeting were accepted. Proposed by Jerome Sopocko and seconded by Pat Molloy.

3   Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4   Report from the Chairman of the Executive Committee – Peter Wills

This year’s Chairman’s report is tinged with a great deal of sadness, as one of our committee members, Ed Ross, died suddenly in August. Ed had been both a friend and a colleague to many of us and he will be greatly missed by everybody who ever had contact with him. He had been a member of the ASC committee for a number of years and had joined the Triple-S group in 2000. Ed’s insightful comments and questions will be missed at our committee meetings.

We have continued with our policy of seeking commercial sponsorship for our events and this has been coordinated by Rebecca Cole. We now have 6 sponsors, all of whom have a regular presence on our website and via the marketing at all of our conferences. Our sponsors are Askia, Cobalt Sky, Data Expert, Merlinco, Nebu and Snap Surveys. We very much value their contribution and thank them for their continued support.

Last autumn we held another of our International Conferences, this time at the University of Winchester. Our talented events sub-committee of Raz Khan, Tim Macer, David Birks, Randy Banks and Pat Molloy planned and executed a very successful conference which was enjoyed by everyone who attended.

In the last 12 months, we have added 3 new committee members to our team – Jerome Sopocko, Alex Reppel and Clare Warren. However, Randy Banks who has served on the committee for many years has decided that it is time to retire now that he has retired from the University of Essex. We are very grateful indeed for all his efforts at so many of our events.

I would like to thank all the members of the committee, all of whom have very busy lives but still give their time freely to help with the running of the ASC. Behind the scenes, Christine Jenkins works tirelessly as our administrator and ensures the very smooth operation of the committee.

5   Treasurer’s Report and Presentation of the Annual Accounts – Raz Khan

The Chairman reported that the organisation is in good shape financially, with the sponsorship income providing a good balanced income for the year.

ASC Profit and Loss Account for year ending 30th April 2017 (pdf)

6   Election to the Executive Committee – Garj Basi

The current executive committee consists of the following (with the year of their last election)

Elected Members Last Elected
Rebecca Cole, Cobalt Sky 2014
Mike Trotman, Lucidence Ltd 2014
Peter Wills, Snap Surveys (Chair) 2014
Raz Khan, Cobalt Sky (Treasurer) 2015
Randy Banks, Independent 2015
Pat Molloy, Independent 2016
Garj Basi, Kantar (Secretary) 2016
Tim Macer, Meaning Ltd 2016
Steve Taylor, We Work With Data 2016
AJ Johnson, Kynetec 2016
Nikki Leftly, NatCen 2016

The following members of the executive were required to seek re-election under paragraph 7.1 of the constitution:

Elected Members Last Elected
Rebecca Cole, Cobalt Sky 2014
Mike Trotman, Lucidence Ltd 2014
Peter Wills, Snap Surveys (Chair) 2014
Raz Khan, Cobalt Sky (Treasurer) 2015

No other nominations were received and the above members were declared duly elected. Proposed by Bev Rowe and seconded by Randy Banks.

The following members were co-opted on to the committee in 2017.

Members Co-opted
Alex Reppel, Royal Holloway University of London 2017
Jerome Sopocko, Askia 2017
Clare Warren, Wealth-X 2017

They were all formally accepted onto the committee. Proposed by Tim Macer and seconded by Malcolm Rigg.

7   Any Other Business

There was no other business.