AGM 2011

Minutes of the ASC Annual General Meeting

 Wills Hall, Bristol University

Friday 23rd September 2011

1.         Apologies for Absence


2.         Minutes of last Annual General Meeting (Wednesday 14th October 2009)

The minutes of the last meeting were accepted.

3.         Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4.         Report from the Chairman of the Executive Committee – Peter Wills

The Chairman thanked members for attending. He stated that two new members, David Birks and Rebecca Cole have been co-opted onto the committee. David has stood in as Chair of the conference SPC following illness of original Chair. Rebecca will be involved with the ASC / MRS Technology Award. The Chairman informed members that there have been 2 one-day conferences in 2010 and the International Conference in 2011. It is planned that there will be a conference in April 2012 and one in September 2012. He asked for suggestion for future topics on the conference questionnaire.

5.         Treasurer’s Report and Presentation of the Annual Accounts – Raz Khan

 A copy of the accounts for the year ended 30th April 2011 was attached to the agenda.

The Treasurer stated that overall the organisation is in good shape financially.

6.         Election to the Executive Committee – Laurance Gerrard

 Under paragraph 7.1 of the Constitution, the following members of the Executive Committeewere required to seek re-election:

Laurance Gerrard,   LG Consulting (Secretary)


Mike Trotman, We   Work With Data


Ed Ross, Teleosys


Peter Wills, Snap Surveys (Chair)


No other nominations had been received and therefore the above-listed members were declared duly elected. (Proposer – Steve Taylor, Seconder – Keith Hughes, Andrew Westlake)

The following co-opted member also needed to be formally elected:

David Birks, University of Southampton


Rebecca Cole, Cobalt Sky


The co-opted member was duly elected. (Proposer – Pat Molloy, Seconder – Ed Ross)

7.         Announcement of shortlist for ASC/MRS Award for Technology Effectiveness – AJ Johnson

This international award, first presented in 2003, is organised annually by the ASC in association with theMRS. It is awarded for outstanding innovation in the application of software or technology to market, opinion and social research in achieving greater effectiveness in research.

The panel of judges has reached a decision and the finalists for 2011 are as follows.

Ugam Research Solutions – EnRAPTURE

E-Tabs Limited – E-Tabs Verify

Brass – The online influence map

The winner will be announced at the MRS Awards Dinner on 12th December 2011.

8.         Any Other Business

 There was no other business.